Executive Committee

The Executive Committee of the Urban Studies Program is comprised of dedicated teachers and researchers of urban issues, and at least one undergraduate student majoring in Urban Studies.  This committee meets at least once each semester and is responsible for all curricular and policy issues related to the major, as well as advocating for the program to the leaders of the College of Charleston and the larger community.

Members of the Executive Committee

  • Deborah Auriffeille (Sociology)
  • Lisa Covert (History)
  • Irina Gigova (History)
  • Melinda Lucka Kelley (Urban Studies)
  • Christopher Mothorpe (Economics)
  • Kendra Stewart (Political Science)
  • Barry Stiefel (Historic Preservation and Community Planning & Urban Studies)
  • Holden Armor and Jim Howard, undergraduate student representatives